eSmart Win

Latest News

eSmart Win!

Frederick Irwin Anglican School joined over 2,200 other registered #eSmart schools during eSmart Week at the start of September 2016, as well as nearly 700 registered #eSmart libraries, to show our commitment to cyber safety, wellbeing and digital inclusion.

The Alannah & Madeline Foundation and National Centre Against Bullying awarded prizes to participating Schools, with Frederick Irwin Anglican School winning recognition for our ‘social media presence and student developed resources’.

Principal, Ms Kerry Robertson, said that she was very proud of the efforts by staff and students across the whole school in promoting the message of cyber safety during eSmart Week.

“eSmart Week was very valuable for our all our students (Primary and Secondary), and we all learned some very valuable tips about using the internet wisely.

“It was such great news for our students to be recognised for their work by this fantastic Foundation,” she said.

Some of the eSmart activities that students and teachers undertook during eSmart Week included designing a cyber safety character, discussions in Primary classes about cyber safety, a lunchtime cyber safety quiz led by the Year 10 Cyber Leaders, creation of the Library eSmart board where students could add notes about how to stay safe online, as well as classroom visits and online quizzes.

ICT Coordinator, Mrs Candice Shier, said that she thoroughly enjoyed interacting with students during eSmart Week.

“Cybersafety education is now an integral part of our school curriculum. Our students are becoming more aware about the risks of sharing personal information online and are confident to make smarter choices that will protect their digital footprint.

“eSmart week was a fun way for a student to celebrate online safety,” she said.

Participating in eSmart Week has been very valuable for the students, as well as teachers, and we are looking forward to adopting some of these activities on a regular basis throughout the year as we participate again in 2017.

Close Search